WWW theweekextra

Which incumbents might lose their jobs?

Mike Heine/The Week

(Published July 16, 2007, 3:08 p.m.)

uncorrected story

Correction: Due to a mapping error, a story in the Sunday print edition of The Week incorrectly indicated that two of the 11 new Walworth County board supervisory districts would have only one incumbent in them. Review of maps and proposed ward boundaries show that Supervisor Art Lein would be in the same district as Supervisor Jerry Grant, not in a district with supervisors Sandra Wagie-Troemel, Ann Lohrmann and Robert Arnold. Supervisor Richard Kuhnke Sr. remains alone in his proposed new district.

It was bound to happen.

With the reduction of the county board by more than half its members, the new supervisory district lines will pit incumbent against incumbent if all were to run in April's election.

Candidates won't start circulating nomination papers until December. Few have publicly declared if they will seek a position on the new, smaller board.

Hypothetically, if all did, 10 of the 11 districts will have incumbents squaring off.

If the proposed new boundaries are approved as is, supervisors will live in the following districts:

• District 1: Joyce Ketchpaw, Stanley Muzatko, Rick Stacey.

• District 2: Roy T. Lightfield, Joseph Schaefer.

• District 3: Bob Arnold, Ann Lohrmann, Sandra Wagie-Troemel.

• District 4: Jerry Grant, Art Lein.

• District 5: Richard Kuhnke Sr.

• District 6: Larry Hilbelink, Kathy Ingersoll.

• District 7: Margaret Downing, David Weber.

• District 8: Dorothy Burwell, Joseph Guido, Daniel Kilkenny.

• District 9: Allen Morrison, Jim Van Dreser.

• District 10: Randy Hawkins, Pauline Parker, Allan Polyock.

• District 11: Alan Kupsik, Nancy Russell.

The Southeastern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission developed the district boundaries.

Mapping technicians had to meet certain criteria required by law.

SEWRPC did not consider current supervisors' addresses as part of the district development. In fact, the commission didn't even want to know where current supervisors lived, said SEWRPC Geographic Information Systems Manager John McDougall.

Supervisors and county staff were ordered not to contact SEWRPC during the months it developed the district lines.

"When I met with your executive committee in April to discuss this assignment, it was pretty clear to me they wanted us to work in isolation, free from any interference from any member of the board or county official," SEWRPC Executive Director Phil Evenson said. "That spirit has been maintained to this day.

"We've not been contacted, or to the best of my knowledge, attempted to be contacted by any member of the board or county official. It's our work entirely."

The map was first shown to the board, county staff and public at Tuesday night's county board meeting.

New challengers are expected in the April election.

The group that called for a smaller county board, the county chapter for the Citizens for Responsible Government, has pledged to find candidates who will spend and tax less than the current board has.



Home | News Blogs | The Guide | Entertainment | Classifieds | Advertise | Subscribe | Contact | Site Map
Copyright 2007 Bliss Communications Inc. All rights reserved.
Use of this material and this site are subject to the TheWeekExtra Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.
Content may not be published, broadcast, re-distributed or re-written.